The Last Big Thing

February 15, 2013 § Leave a comment

Deirdre Sullivan tagged me in some manner of Chain letter questionnaire post, heavily implying she will send one of her Guinea pigs to kill me in my sleep if I don’t comply (William, most likely. He has a look). So here it is!

What are you working on at the moment?

I’m working on two things. One is a very serious one act play that has all the key features of serious plays: Nudity, poverty, murder. The other is a light hearted children’s book that has all the key features of light hearted children’s books: Jokes, adventure, murder. (I guess there is also this book I’ve sworn myself to secrecy on, but we won’t be discussing that.)

Where did the idea come from for the book?

Hang on, questionnaire! I haven’t even said what the idea is yet. Geesh! The idea came from a lifetime love of murder mysteries and wondering about the realities of the situations, for example in this story, what if you were late for a murder? (Oh by the way, I will also be needlessly obtuse about the plot to this too. IT’S FOR YOUR OWN GOOD! YOU’LL ENJOY IT MORE WHEN YOU READ IT.)

What genre does your book fall under?

Comedy for 9-11year olds, Middle Grade, Pre Young Adult, The Height of Life’s Spring. (On a side note, I should have been the one to name the genre of New Adult. I had some wild and scary ideas for it)

Which actors would you choose to be in a film adaptation of your book?

I would say the cast of Murder by Death but most of them are dead now, so I would be happy with the remainder, Maggie Smith and James Cromwell. (Maggie Smith in Murder by Death is fantastic. I’m not going to lie, I ended up with a mild crush after)

What is the one sentence synopsis for your book?

I have quite the one sentence synopsis for this, very catchy. (Too catchy, in fact. I wouldn’t trust anyone to not steal it, especially you, Steve!)

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

It’s a bit early for that kind of thing, but hopefully I can procure some method of it leaving my desktop and reaching your pages. (I have had an aside in parenthesis for all of the questions so far. That’s interesting)

How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

Oh, am I supposed to be finished before answering this? Give me a minute! (Opps opps opps!)

What other books would you compare this to within this genre?

I’ll say Lemony Snicket, Katie Davis’s The Great Hamster Massacre and maybe a bit of Roald Dahl for books. I would say though I may be more influenced by films and TV like Clue, Scooby Doo and Milton Murder Mystery (which stars me!)

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

Fear mostly. I recently finished writing MOOR and I wanted to keep the momentum going. (My first piece of writerly advice. Never stop writing!)

What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

Well, since I have told you next to nothing about it, any tidbit should be exciting so I will say it features a suspicious clown, mathematical theorems, three twists and possibly the worst edition of Come Dine With Me (Except for the one where that guy ruined the apple tart).

And that’s my lot! I’m tagging… Wait! I found no one to tag! Do I have any more time…

*Scratch… Scratch…*

It’s William! If you would like to save me, wait a week, then publish your answers on your blog and tag others. I’ll hold out here till then…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Last Big Thing at Cethan Leahy.

meta

